We hope that your Christmas holidays brought some cheer and a bit of relaxation – a very ‘Happy New Year’ to you all!

The term has begun with a focus on science – The Crick Institute were with us for the day and, as you will see from the class pages, the children thoroughly enjoyed being scientists! In addition to this Y5 are experimenting further at the Crick today. Science will continue as an overall topic for the next two weeks and this will be followed by the introduction to our Shakespeare project,the children are delighted that we are focusing on a Midsummer Night’s Dream.

Sporting News

Children from Y5 and Y6 took part in an indoor Athletics competition earlier this week and came 3rd place out of 16. They also were awarded 1st place for being the overall highest scoring small school. It was an outstanding achievement and we are so proud of them all. We would like to give a special mention to Josie who won gold in the triple jump, Jason who won gold in the speed bounce and Lucy, Ranyah, Abigail and Josie for winning the 4 by 1 relay event. 

In the final matches of the football season, our girls beat Hampstead Parochial 3-0 and drew with Eleanor Palmer 1-1. Our boys beat HP 3-0 and lost to EP 4-0. Congratulations to our boys for getting through to the Camden finals, and to our girls for getting through to the play-offs.

Calendar

Please look on our home page for an updated calendar of events for this term. Due to Shakespeare performance preparation, for class assemblies this term each class will perform either a song or performance poetry.

Christian Values

Our Christian value for this  half term is Endurance 

Endurance is the recognition that life is sometimes difficult and  painful, and that it is important not to give up in the face of adversity. Endurance and perseverance are only possible where there is hope and that hope is based on the enduring nature of God’s love and faithfulness.

Church & Community News

Camden Music – New Voices

If your child is in Y4, Y5 or Y5 Camden Music are auditioning for singers to be part of an out of school project, in partnership with The Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment. The audition dates are after school on: Tues 5th March, Thurs 7th & Fri 8th March. Please email, sheena.masson@camden.gov.uk to book an audition slot or for further information.

Term Dates 

Term First Day for Children Half

Term

Last School Day Inset

Days

Autumn Term 2018 Weds 5th September Mon 22nd – Fri 26th October Fri 21st December

1:30pm

Mon 3rd & Tues 4th September
Spring Term 2019 Tues 8th January Mon 18th – Fri 22nd Feb Fri 5th April

1:30pm

Mon 7th January
Summer Term 2019 Tues 23rd April Mon 27th – Fri 31st May Friday 19th July

1:30pm

Mon 22nd & Tues 23rd July